Life simulation system

Its been a while since I wrote the last note but fear not, I haven’t been lazy!
The Teardrop documentation still is beeing created, but recently my attention had been focused on a prototype for a Life Simulation System that I’ve came up with a couple of months ago, while drinking vodka with Kuba Gert .
Anyhow it’s been sitting in my brain quietly for a while and recently I finally started to prototype it. For the engine I choose Unreal Ed – mainly because its highly developed Kismet system and the enormous tutorial database that can be found in the vast and dark area of the internet 🙂
Anyhow right now, I’ve already managed to spawn a Pawn who is able to compare his own clock with the world clock and callendar and choose one of the two mind states (work and rest) that he has assigned for the current hour. Then he randomly selects one of the work or rest nodes (depends on what state he currently is in), goes there and plays looped animation. The animations right now are placeholders but soon, while in rest state he will be going to bed, and while in work state will be doing some work (i don’t know maybe some mining or carrying some rocks from one place to another).

In past hours I’ve also created a moving sun, that follows the world clock.

Things that I will add later on:

-place holder animations will be replaced with the proper ones

-UT3 character models will be replaced with my own custom models

-New Pawns in the game that will be able to see if a current work/rest node is occupied and choose from the ones that are free

– Create a decent looking enviroment for my minions (right now I keep them in a box :P) – I have a small town in plans

– Pawns will be then divided into different groups and their work tasks will differ

– An interruption system will be added (when pawn will be interrupted in their work after the interruption is gone he will be going back to his bussiness)

– An ownership system will be added (Pawns will own their houses and workshops and they will get really mad if you will enter their houses while they are asleep)

– and some minor things like a decent UI, camera system etc. etc

Stay tuned!

~ by talanar on September 20, 2009.

Leave a comment